What You Shouldn’t Know About Anything

Posted: November 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s hard to criticize advice when you’re asking for it.  In this case I wasn’t, so I’m using that as my excuse to be a tad bit obnoxious and maybe even snotty.  I just spilled my milk if you were wondering why my mood is off.  I love my milk.  Every so often I see things on the internet that leave me asking why someone would waste their time writing that.  I’m sure I’m guilty of doing the same at one point or another; actually I know I am.  A few years ago one of the first blog posts I ever wrote had something to do with me walking my dog.  At the time I thought it was a good read, until I realized it wasn’t.

I guess I’m just annoyed of the typical blog posts titled “10 things you need to know,” followed by such and such.  Why not try something like “20 minus 10, things you need to know” followed by such and such.  I don’t like that either, but at least it’s somewhat creative.  I’m referring to an article I read recently about what I should have learned in college, but apparently didn’t.  It’s possible my spilled milk is driving my unfavorable judgment towards this article, which is why I’m still debating if I should actually post this.  Eh, why not?

Now that I think about it maybe the title of the post intended to annoy me, which in reality is what inspired me to read it:“What you should have learned in college (but probably didn’t).”  Doesn’t that sound like a challenge?  How the hell do you know what I learned in college? With that being said I probably wouldn’t have read a post titled “What you should have learned in college,” so the author has me there.  However, if a writer is going to use a title that challenges readers you would expect the content of the post to be pretty damn convincing.  Do I look convinced?

As I sipped my milk I clicked on the post to see what I didn’t learn in college.  According to the article there are five essential skills my education failed to provide me with:  Phone etiquette, multitasking, writing, writing and grammar. Here’s the link to the article if I’m not making sense and read numbers three & four to see why I listed writing twice.  “What you should have learned in college (but probably didn’t)”

A college lecture hall has an atmosphere and a vibe that can only be described through expierence. Photo credit to David Gandy.

I won’t waste your time talking about the first two things the author claims most of us didn’t learn in college because it’s true.  Although I’m sure some people could benefit from a common sense course, I can’t think of a college that offers one.  Call me crazy, but I’m guessing most college graduates can hold a professional conversation on that thing they call a telephone.  Let’s focus on the other things we didn’t learn.

The third suggestion made by the author is to use concise, simple and clear writing.  Directly after, the fourth suggestion says to be concise and to the point.  Wait, what?  Oh, and let’s not forget about the fifth suggestion, which emphasizes the importance of proper grammar.  Wouldn’t most people consider grammar as an aspect of writing?  Then again, I’m not exactly a credible source since I didn’t learn any of these things in college.  I’m getting bored writing about this so I’ll wrap things up.

The great (or bad) thing about blogs is that anyone can have one and write about whatever they so desire.  In addition, we all have our own opinions and to say that mine is more worthy than someone else’s would be arrogant and false.  I commend the author for striving to help others achieve success, but I strongly believe the skills you obtain from a four year college education cannot be quantified.  The amount of knowledge you receive from class is only half of what you learn from the overall college experience.  Now that I’ve either irritated you or put you to sleep, it’s time for me to get another glass of milk.

.

Comments
  1. I also wrote about this article and I too found it to be kind of ridiculous. I think you make a great point about half of what we learn is in the college experience, for me I learned how to answer a telephone professionally when I was 15, call me an early learner. But I think that some of the contents in this article make a great point, I think our generation may excel in a classroom because we are taught to strive for an “A” in all of our classes. But how much knowledge are we absorbing in the classroom? Or are we just doing enough to get by? I think college students need job or internship experience to learn what we can’t in a classroom.

Leave a Reply

